Evaluation question 2

I believe that my music video, digipac and website work well as a combination as each of these products feature a similar aesthetic and a similar theme flows throughout. 

In order to make sure they my artist was distinctive and stood out to a potential audience I highlighted a variety of things about his talents and music. For starters the artist writes his own songs, because of this on my digipac a created a ‘homemade’ like scribble effect on the back cover and the CD cover. This shows that the artist is creative and perhaps comes from simple beginnings. I continued this effect in both my music video and website by using similar images on the background of the website and also including a page that highlights the artists songwriting talents and in the music video continuing the scribble effect on multiple shots including almost every shot with a guitar to draw attention to the instrument. 

On my wix website I used a combination of images from the music video itself and from other locations to add diversity to the site. However the main images used, for example on the home page all come from the same location and time as the music video and the additional shots are used in the secondary tabs such as, music, videos and tour. The images not used on the homepage feature shots of the artist and the actor in the music video and also shots of the sea, art galleries and swimming pools. All of the additional shots are designed to create a nice aesthetic for the audience and i have used colouration to make sure that together they look as if they belong. On my website i also featured links to external websites, such as twitter, Instagram, and Soundcloud which all had links to my artists corresponding social media page. On the social media pages, there was announcements of music releases on soundcloud and also personal tweets in order to connect the audience to the artist. The album cover was also featured on the Soundcloud account. In the merch section of my website i also included multiple items which featured the same image as the front cover and also introduced an initial logo ‘MD’ to create a simple yet recognisable logo for my artist. 

For my final digipac, i incorporated 4 different images to make up the final product. I created a album and single cover as from researching real life media products it was clear that it is common for artists to release a single from the album before the albums release. Although the album and Single covers are different the rest of the digital remains the same although the colour scheme is different. Because of the singer-songwriter genre I wanted to make my digipac simple so that the focus is on the music and I wanted the artist to be featured, but perhaps not the main focus. 

Leave a comment